Mini Praline Custard Pie Recipe


Praline custard cupsI made these today. I realized (too late) we are supposed to bring a dessert to a holiday party. So, I looked through the house to see what ingredients I have to make something.

This recipe is mash-up of two recipes I found.I don’t have a full size cupcake tin so anything like cupcakes was out.  I do have a Pampered Chef “mini-cupcake” pan, so I started with that. I hit the Pampered chef website and found what dessert kind of things are possible.

I had small wonton wrappers and figured I could use this to use for the “crust” on the Pampered Chef website.

Next…what to put in them.  I’m not much of  a fruit dessert person, and didn’t have any fruit.  I did have a can of sweetened condensed milk, what could I do with that?  Custard!  I went to the Eagle Brand website (although I had a generic can of condensed milk) and found this custard pie recipe.

Mini-pie crust

  • 48 small wonton wrappers
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter
  • Sugar for sprinkling (I would have used red or green to add a festive touch, but thought that both would brown)
  • 1 Pampered Chef mini-cupcake pan

Custard

  • 1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 (9-inch) unbaked Crisco® pie crust

Praline Sauce

  • 1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon whole milk
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

HEAT oven to 325°F.

Using a basting brush, brush one side of each wonton wrapper with melted butter. Sprinkle wontons evenly with sugar. Press each wonton, sugared side up, into cups of Mini-Muffin Pan

 

WHISK sweetened condensed milk, milk, eggs, vanilla and lemon juice in a medium bowl until well blended. Pour into prepared wontons in pan.

BAKE 15-20 minutes or until custard is set in center. Cool completely on wire rack. Cover and refrigerate until serving time.

COMBINE brown sugar, corn syrup, butter and milk in saucepan over medium heat. Cook until mixture comes to a boil, stirring constantly. Boil 1 1/2 to 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Stir in pecans and vanilla. Pour into cooled custard cups. Serve immediately.

 

    Leave a Reply

    Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers

